A Light Beyond the Hedge

Poetry and Somewhat Social Commentary

Autumn

Crabtree Cabins 10-14-12 040

Outside the window,
In the courtyard,
The yellow leaves
Swirled like dervishes,
Seemingly from
The ground to the sky.
I thought
Oh, this can only 
Mean change
Is coming
Swiftly.
And so it was.
Life changed.

Now, years later,
The leaves again
Are falling,
Crimson, orange,
And the squirrels
Scatter as I clap
My hands,
Greeting the frost
And woodsmoke
With joy.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. Reblogged this on michaela lee and commented:
    Being in Florida means that I missed the beautiful fall colors in Michigan. This makes me feel as though I’m there.

  2. Gary Smith on said:

    The wisdom of retrospection is the benefit of being older. We realize that change is inevitable and we value the change.

    You know I’ve been following you for years, but now I’ve the time to really relish your poetry and your songs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 596 other followers

